Save up to $400 on
Alabama car insurance

Alabama DUI Laws

In the state of Alabama you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Alabama DUI Offense

  • Up to 1 year imprisonment or
  • $600 and/or $2100 fine(s)
  • 90-day license suspension

Second Alabama DUI Offense
  • Mandatory 5 days in jail or 30 days community service
  • Possible 5 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $1100 to $5100 fine
  • 1-year license suspension

Third Alabama DUI Offense
  • Mandatory 60 days in jail
  • Possible 60 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $2100 to $10,000 fine
  • 3-year license suspension

Fourth Alabama DUI Offense
  • Class “C” felony conviction
  • Mandatory 1 year and 1 day in jail
  • Possible 1 year to 10 years imprisonment
  • $4100 to $10,100 fine
  • Completion of state-certified chemical dependency counseling program
  • 5-year license suspension

Alabama’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended. In addition to the above punishments, all convicted DUI offenders must complete a court-referred substance abuse program.