Save up to $400 on
Alaska car insurance

Alaska Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, Alaska has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official Alaska driver license.

Alaska Graduated Driver License Requirements
An Alaska learner’s permit is valid for 2 years. To obtain one, the applicant must fulfill the following requirements:

  • Be at least 14 years old
  • Pass written and vision tests
  • Submit two forms of ID
  • Verification of Social Security number
  • Parental consent
  • Proof of address
  • $15 fee

To obtain an Alaska provisional license, the applicant must fulfill the following requirements:
  • Be at least 16 years old
  • Gain at least 40 hours of behind-the-wheel practice certified by a parent or legal guardian
  • 10 of those hours need to be at night and/or under adverse weather conditions
  • Has a learner’s permit for at least 6 months
  • No traffic-related convictions 6 months prior to applying

Alaska Teen Driver Restrictions
  • Cannot drive between 1 am and 5 am, excepting emergencies and work.
  • They may not have any passengers under the age of 21, except siblings unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
  • If a driver is caught in violation of these conditions they can have 2 points put on their driving record, $200 fine, and a possible loss of license.
  • More than a six points in one year requires completing a defensive driver course.