Save up to $400 on
Arizona car insurance

Arizona DUI Laws

In the state of Arizona you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone. Arizona’s DUI laws also extend to boats and aircraft.

First Arizona DUI Offense

  • $250 DUI Base Fine
  • $200 Arizona DUI Surcharge
  • $10 Probation Surcharge
  • $500 Prison Construction Assessment
  • $500 Arizona Xtra DUI Assessment
  • 1 to 10 day(s) imprisonment
  • 90-360 days license suspension
  • Possible court-ordered installation ignition interlock device at the expense of the DUI offender.

Second Arizona DUI Offense
  • $500 DUI Base Fine
  • $400 Arizona DUI Surcharge
  • $10 Probation Surcharge
  • $1250 Prison Construction Assessment
  • $1250 Arizona Xtra DUI Assessment
  • 30 to 90-day imprisonment
  • 1-year license suspension
  • Court-ordered installation ignition interlock device at the expense of the DUI offender.
  • Successful completion of substance abuse education or treatment program.

Third Arizona DUI Offense
  • $750 DUI Base Fine
  • $600 Arizona DUI Surcharge
  • $10 Probation Surcharge
  • $1500 Prison Construction Assessment
  • $1500 Arizona Xtra DUI Assessment
  • DUI Abatement Fee
  • Minimum 4-month imprisonment
  • 1-year license suspension
  • Court-ordered installation ignition interlock device at the expense of the DUI offender.
  • Successful completion of substance abuse education or treatment program.

It is considered an aggravated DUI if a third offense occurs within 60-months of the first two offenses or 84-months of the second. Arizona has specific laws and penalties in place for those found guilty of an “Extreme DUI,” which is a BAC in excess of 0.15%.

First Extreme DUI Conviction
  • $900 DUI Base Fine
  • $250 DUI Assessment
  • $1250 Extreme DUI Assessment
  • 1-year license suspension
  • Court-ordered installation ignition interlock device at the expense of the DUI offender.

Second Extreme DUI Conviction (Occurring within 5 years of the first conviction)
  • $450 DUI Base Fine
  • $250 DUI Assessment
  • $100 Extreme DUI Assessment
  • 90-day to 1-year license suspension
  • Court-ordered installation ignition interlock device at the expense of the DUI offender.