Save up to $400 on
Arizona car insurance

Arizona Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, Arizona has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official Arizona driver license.

Arizona Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL is intended for aspiring drivers 16 to 18 years old. To apply for an Arizona Class “G” (Graduated) license, the teen must meet the following requirements:

  • Obtained and held an instruction permit for at least six months
  • Has completed at least 30 hour of behind-the-wheel practice, including 10 hours of nighttime driving.

To apply for a Graduation Instruction permit, a teen must fulfill the following qualifications:
  • Be at least 15-and-a-half years old
  • Pass written and vision tests
  • Be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old, in the front passenger seat at all times
  • Must provide the DMV with all completed application documents

A teen wishing to obtain a leaner license must be 15 years old and submit the follow documentation:
  • Picture ID such as Arizona ID card, US military ID, or passport
  • If no photo ID is available, the teen can present any three form ID including an Arizona permit, original birth certificate, W-2, bank card, student photo ID, employee photo ID, credit card.
  • Verification of Social Security number (original SSN card required, no copies)

Arizona Teen Driver Restrictions
  • Anyone under 18 cannot operate a motor vehicle between midnight and 5 am unless accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or licensed driver (at least 21 years old) with the permission of the learner’s parent or legal guardian.
  • A teen can only drive unaccompanied if they are going to and from work, a school sanctioned event, a religious event, or in case of emergency.
  • They may not have more than one passenger under 18 (excluding siblings) unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.

If a driver is caught in violation of these conditions:
  • A $75 fine will be assessed and the restrictive period will be lengthened by 30 days.
  • A second violation will result in a $100 fine and another 60 days, or 90 days if including a first violation.
  • A third violation will bring another $100 fine and 30-day license suspension.