Save up to $400 on
Arkansas car insurance

Arkansas DUI Laws

In the state of Arkansas you will be charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Arkansas DUI Offense

  • From 1 day to 1 year imprisonment or community service
  • From 7 days to 1 year imprisonment or community service if anyone under 16 is in the vehicle
  • $150 to 1000 fine
  • 6-month license suspension
  • Possible court-ordered installation ignition interlock device at the expense of the DWI offender.
  • Completion of substance abuse program
  • Attendance of victim impact panel

Second Arkansas DUI Offense
  • From 7 days to 1 year imprisonment or community service
  • From 30 days to 1 year imprisonment or community service if anyone under 16 is in the vehicle
  • $400 to $3000 fine
  • 24-month license suspension
  • Possible court-ordered installation ignition interlock device at the expense of the DWI offender.
  • Completion of substance abuse program
  • Attendance of victim impact panel

Third Arkansas DUI Offense
  • From 90 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • From 120 days to 1 year imprisonment if anyone under 16 is in the vehicle
  • $900 to $5000 fine
  • 30-month license suspension
  • Possible court-ordered installation ignition interlock device at the expense of the DWI offender.
  • Minimum 90 days community service
  • Minimum 120 days community service if anyone under 16 is in the vehicle
  • Completion of substance abuse program
  • Attendance of victim impact panel

Fourth Arkansas DUI Offense
  • Felony conviction
  • From one to six years imprisonment
  • From two to six years imprisonment if anyone under 16 is in the vehicle
  • $900 to $5000 fine
  • 4-year license suspension
  • Minimum 1 year community service
  • Minimum 2 years community service if anyone under 16 is in the vehicle
  • Completion of substance abuse program
  • Vehicle may be seized if fourth offense occurs within three years of first conviction.

Arkansas' implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be automatically suspended for 180 days after a first offense. Further, your refusal may prevent you from receiving an ignition interlock restricted license.