Save up to $400 on
California car insurance

California Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, California has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official California driver license.

California Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL is intended for aspiring drivers who are 15 ? to 17 ? years old. In addition, they must meet the following requirements:

  • Obtain and carry a provisional learner’s permit for 6 months.
  • Successfully complete 6 hours of professional driving practice
  • Successfully complete a driver’s education class
  • Complete 50 hours of practice driving with a parent, legal guardian, or licensed driver who is at least 25 years old.
  • Apply for a provisional driver’s license

Upon completion, the teen receives their interim license, which is good for 60 days. The next step is to apply for a provisional license. The following requirements must be met:
  • Those under 18 years of age must have written consent from a parent or legal guardian.
  • Proof of Social Security number
  • An ID with a photo
  • Birth certificate
  • Proof of legal residence
  • $28 application fee

If the provisional application is approved, the applicant receives their provisional license in the mail. There are several restrictions on it, which are lifted when they reach their 18th birthday.

California Teen Driver Restrictions
  • Anyone under 18 cannot operate a motor vehicle between 11 pm and 5 am unless accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, licensed driver of 25, or a licensed driving instructor.
  • A teen cannot transport passengers under the age of 20 years of age unless accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, licensed driver of 25, or a licensed driving instructor.

These restrictions do not apply to emancipated minors or in the following exceptions:
  • There is no other form of reasonable transportation
  • It is medically necessary; teen must have a note from doctor
  • It is school-related; teen must have a note from his or her dean, principal, or designee.
  • It is work-related; teen must have proof of employment.
  • It is family-related; teen must have note from parent or legal guardian.
  • Proof of financial responsibility in form of SR-1P

A teen can face a loss of driving privileges if they:
  • Receive a ticket and fail to appear in court and/or pay the fine
  • Are involved in an “at fault” accident or conviction within a year
  • Have two at-fault accidents within a year; driving privileges will be suspended for 30 days.
  • Have three at fault accidents within a year; driving privileges will be suspended for 6 months and placed on probation for one year.
  • Have additional at fault accidents while on probation
  • Traffic violations are reported to the DMV and can stay on your record permanently.