Save up to $400 on
Colorado car insurance

Colorado Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, Colorado has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official Colorado driver license.

Colorado Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL is intended for aspiring drivers at least 15 years old.

To obtain an instruction permit, the teen must satisfy the following requirements:

  • Be at least 15 years old and participate in a state-approved driver education program
  • He or she must also complete 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training
  • 15 ? years olds must complete a four-hour driver awareness course.
  • 16 years olds may obtain an instruction permit without a driver education program
  • Teens under 18 years old must have a parent or legal guardian sign an affidavit before they can get their instruction permit.

To obtain a driver’s license, teens must:
  • Have an instruction permit for at least 1 year
  • Earn a minimum of 50 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel practice, including 10 hours of nighttime driving.
  • Maintain a clean driving record.

To apply for a Colorado driver’s license, any of the following documentation must be provided:
  • Social Security Card
  • Birth certificate
  • Passport
  • Proof of citizenship
  • Military ID
  • VA photo ID
  • Colorado Dept. of Corrections or Federal Bureau of Prisons ID

Colorado Teen Driver Restrictions
In the state of Colorado, drivers under the age of 18:
  • With less than six months experience cannot have passengers under the age of 21.
  • Must have license for at least one year before they can transport more than one passenger under the age of 21.
  • Cannot carry more than one passenger in the front seat.
  • Are not permitted to drive between 12 am and 5 am unless they’ve had their license for one year.
  • Only permitted to drive between these hours if driving to or from school, church, a job, an emergency, or if the driver is an emancipated adult.
  • Any driver who violates these rules will face license suspension, community service, fines, points, and won’t be able to insure their vehicle.