Save up to $400 on
Connecticut car insurance

Connecticut DUI Laws

In the state of Connecticut you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone. Furthermore, it is illegal for a minor with a BAC of 0.02% or above.

First Connecticut DUI Offense

  • 48 hours to 6 months imprisonment
  • $500 to $1000 fine
  • 1 year license suspension
  • Successful completion of substance abuse program
  • Vehicle towed and impounded for 48 hours

Second Connecticut DUI Offense
  • 120 days to 2 years imprisonment
  • $1000 to $4000 fine
  • 1-year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock device for two years after suspension
  • Successful completion of abuse treatment program
  • Minimum 100 hours of community service
  • Vehicle towed and impounded for 48 hours

Third Connecticut DUI Offense
  • 1 year to 3 years imprisonment
  • $2000 to $8,000 fine
  • Permanent license suspension (an appeal may be made after 6 years)
  • Minimum 100 hours of community service

Connecticut’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, you will face penalties similar to a DUI conviction.