Save up to $400 on
Connecticut car insurance

Connecticut Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, Connecticut has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official Connecticut driver license.

Connecticut Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL is intended for aspiring drivers at least 16 years old.

Anyone who wishes to obtain a driver’s license must first hold an instructions permit for 6 months of supervised behind-the-wheel practice. Driver’s education reduces this holding period to 4 months with 20 hours of parental or instructor supervised practice.

Upon completion of the instruction permit requirements, teen drivers can obtain an intermediate license until they turn 18.

In order to get an unrestricted Connecticut driver’s license, an applicant must meet the following requirements:

  • 18 years or older
  • Complete eight-hour safe driving course
  • Maintain a clean record
  • Pass a vision test
  • Present social security card, birth certificate or US passport, and another form of ID.
  • Show proof Connecticut residency
  • Complete the application
  • $40 testing fee
  • $18 license fee

Connecticut Teen Driver Restrictions
Teen drivers with a restricted license may not drive between 12 am and 5 am or with anyone under 21, unless accompanied by a supervising licensed driver over 21. In addition, they and their passenger(s) must wear their seatbelt at all times.

Any teen caught violating these laws may have their license suspended, have points assessed, or face delays in licensing, fines, community service, or even imprisonment.

Connecticut also expressly forbids drivers 16 to 17 years of age from using a cell phone in any way while drivers 18 and older can use a cell phone as long as it is equipped with hands-free technology. The only exception to this rule is if the under-18 driver is an emergency response professional such as ambulance driver, peace officer or in a case of personal emergency.

Failure to abide by these laws will result in an immediate 30-day license suspension.