Save up to $400 on
Delaware car insurance

Delaware Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, Delaware has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official Delaware driver license.

Delaware Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL is intended for aspiring drivers 16 to 18 years old. To obtain a level one learner’s permit, a teen driver must provide the following documentation:

  • Delaware Driver Education Certificate (Blue Certificate)
  • Proof of legal name and birthdate, typically in the form of a birth certificate, US passport, or military ID
  • Social Security card
  • Signature of parent or guardian

The teen must carry a level one learner’s permit for a year and accumulate at least 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice (including 10 hours of night driving) before they can apply for a full Class “D” driver’s license.

To obtain a Class “D” driver’s license in Delaware, the following requirements must be fulfilled:
  • Pass written and vision tests
  • Submit completed application
  • Pay $25 fee

Delaware Teen Driver Restrictions
  • Anyone under 18 cannot operate a motor vehicle between 10 pm and 6 am unless accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or licensed driver (at least 21 years old) with the permission of the learner’s parent or legal guardian.
  • A teen can only drive unaccompanied if they are going to and from work, a school sanctioned event, a religious event, or in case of emergency.
  • They may not have more than two passengers including a supervising licensed driver excluding immediate family members.
  • Everyone must wear seatbelts at all times.

Violation of these laws could result in:
  • Being charged with “driving without a license” which carries a 60-day suspension.
  • A second violation or other driving offense will result in a 120-day license suspension.
  • A driver cannot apply for a Class “D” license if their driving privileges have been suspended, denied, surrendered, or canceled.