Save up to $400 on
Florida car insurance

Florida DUI Laws

In the state of Florida you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Level (BAL) is 0.08%, the minimum BAL known to impair everyone.

First Florida DUI Offense

  • 6 months imprisonment if BAL is 0.08% to less than 0.15%
  • 9 months imprisonment if BAL is greater than 0.15% or minor is present
  • $500 to $1000 fine if BAL is 0.08% to less than 0.15%
  • $1000 to $2000 fine if BAL is greater than 0.15%
  • 180 days to 1 year license suspension
  • Hardship reinstatement after successful completion of DUI school
  • Ignition interlock device required for six months
  • Up to 50 hours community service
  • Community service $10 for each hour served
  • Treatment may be sought in lieu of prison
  • 10 day vehicle impound

Second Florida DUI Offense
  • 9 months imprisonment if BAL is 0.08% to less than 0.15%
  • 1 year imprisonment if BAL is greater than 0.15% or minor is present
  • Mandatory 10 days in jail if offense occurs within 5 years of previous offense
  • $1000 to $2000 fine if BAL is 0.08% to less than 0.15%
  • $2000 to $4000 fine if BAL is greater than 0.15% or minor is present
  • 5 year license suspension if offense occurs within 5 years of previous offense
  • Hardship reinstatement after 1 year and successful completion of DUI school
  • Ignition interlock device required for 1 year if BAL is 0.08% to less than 0.15%
  • Ignition interlock device required for 2 years if BAL is greater than 0.15%
  • 30 day vehicle impound if offense occurs within 5 years of previous offense

Third Florida DUI Offense
  • Third Degree felony if offense occurs within 10 years of previous offense
  • 1 year imprisonment
  • Mandatory 30 days in jail if offense occurs within 10 years of previous offense
  • $2000 to $5000 fine if BAL is 0.08% to less than 0.15%
  • $4000+ fine if BAL is greater than 0.15% if minor is present
  • 10-year license suspension if offense occurs within 10 years of previous offense
  • Hardship reinstatement after 2 year and successful completion of DUI school
  • Ignition interlock device required for 2 years
  • 90-day vehicle impound if offense occurs within 10 years of previous offense

Fourth Florida DUI Offense
  • Up to 5 years imprisonment
  • $2000+ fine
  • Permanent license suspension

Florida’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended for one year and 18 months for subsequent refusals. In addition the arresting officer may use reasonable force to take your blood against your consent.