Save up to $400 on
Florida car insurance

Florida Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, Florida has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official Florida driver license.

Florida Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL is intended for aspiring drivers 15 to 17 years old.

Any 15-year-old wishing to drive must complete a driver’s education course before they can apply for a learner’s permit. They must then complete 50 hours of supervised driving including 10 hours of night driving. In addition, they must hold the learner’s license for a full year after which the parent or legal guardian must sign a form to affirm the teen has completed the required practice hours.

Any teen wanting a learner’s license must satisfy the following requirements:

  • Signed verification form from a parent or legal guardian
  • Pass traffic laws and substance abuse education course
  • Provide Social Security card and proof of residence
  • Pass written and vision tests
  • $27 fee

Teens aged 16 to 17 may apply for a restricted Class “E” driver’s license once all the learner’s license requirements are fulfilled and the teen has a clean driving record.

Florida Teen Driver Restrictions
  • Anyone with a learner’s license must be accompanied by a licensed adult 21 years or older at all times.
  • Restricted license holders who are 16 years old may not drive between 11 pm and 6 am; 17-year-olds may not drive between 1 am and 5 am.
  • The only exception to these rules is if the teen is driving to and from work and then they must be accompanied in the front seat by a licensed driver 21 years and older.

Violation of these laws could result in:
  • Delay receiving an unrestricted license; up to one year from the date of the conviction or until the teen’s 18th birthday, whichever comes first.
  • Points may also be added to a teen’s driving record, more than six points will result in driving privileges being restricted to work only for one year or until the teen’s 18th birthday, whichever comes first.
  • Florida will also suspend a teen’s license if they are truant from school. Teens must provide proof they’ve attended school for 30 straight days or their license will be suspended.