Save up to $400 on
Georgia car insurance

Georgia DUI Laws

In the state of Georgia you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Georgia DUI Offense

  • 10 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $300 to $1000 fine
  • Up to 1 year license suspension
  • Minimum 40 hours community service
  • $210 license reinstatement fee

Second Georgia DUI Offense
  • 10 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $600 to $1000 fine
  • Up to 3 years license suspension
  • Minimum 30 hours community service
  • $210 license reinstatement fee
  • Ignition interlock device upon court approval
  • Successful completion of treatment program or evaluation

Third Georgia DUI Offense
  • 120 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $1000 to $5000 fine
  • Up to 5 years license suspension
  • Newspaper coverage
  • Minimum 30 hours community service
  • $210 license reinstatement fee
  • Successful completion of treatment program or evaluation

Fourth Georgia DUI Offense
  • Felony conviction
  • 1 to 5 year(s) imprisonment
  • $1000 to $5000 fine
  • Minimum 60 hours community service
  • Successful completion of treatment program or evaluation

Georgia’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to chemical testing, your license will be suspended for one year and carries penalties similar to a DUI conviction.