Save up to $400 on
Georgia car insurance

Georgia Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, Georgia has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official Georgia driver license.

Georgia Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL is intended for aspiring drivers who are at least 15 years old.

A teen must first pass vision and written tests and obtain a learner’s permit after which the teen must:

  • Hold the learner’s permit for one year
  • Complete at least 40 hours of supervised driving
  • Complete a drug and alcohol awareness program
  • Complete a state-approved driver’s education course

To apply for a learner’s permit, the teen must provide the following:
  • Signed parental consent
  • Proof of enrollment in school or graduation
  • Social Security number and two form of identification
  • $10 fee

Once the teen meets all the learner’s permit requirements, they may apply for a provisional or Class “D” license. This license has a number of restrictions and is only good for two years.

Once the teen is 18 years old they may obtain a Class “C” provisional license. In addition to meeting all the above requirements, the teen must complete an application to the Georgia DMV and maintain a clean driving record.

Georgia Teen Driver Restrictions
  • Teen drivers in Georgia who hold an instructional permit must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old, and sits in the front passenger seat at all times.
  • Drivers who hold a Class “D” provisional license may not drive between 12 am and 6 am.
  • Once a driver is issued a Class “D” license, they may only carry immediate family members for the first six months.
  • During the second six-month period, the driver may only carry one non-family member.
  • After the first year, the teen driver may only carry three non-family members under the age of 21.

Any violation of these laws could result in:
  • Six-month suspension for a first offense and 1-year suspension for the second.
  • Driver can also be assessed points on to their driving record. Accumulating four points is an automatic license suspension.