Save up to $400 on
Hawaii car insurance

Hawaii DUI Laws

In the state of Hawaii you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Hawaii DUI Offense

  • 2 to 5 days imprisonment plus 2 more days if minor under 15 is present in vehicle
  • $150 to $1000 fine plus $500 more if minor under 15 is present in vehicle
  • 90-day prompt license suspension (driving may be allowed) or
  • 30 day prompt license suspension (driving limited to court approval) or
  • 6 month license suspension if BAC is above 0.15% (all driving is prohibited)
  • $25 to $50 special trauma fund surcharge
  • 72 hours community service
  • Successful completion of court ordered substance abuse education program

Second Hawaii DUI Offense
  • 5 to 14 days imprisonment plus 2 more days if minor under 15 is present in vehicle
  • $500 to $1500 fine plus $500 more if minor under 15 is present in vehicle
  • 1 year prompt license suspension
  • $50 to $75 special trauma fund surcharge
  • 240 hours community service
  • Successful completion of court ordered substance abuse education program

Third Hawaii DUI Offense
  • 10 to 30 days imprisonment plus 2 more days if minor under 15 is present in vehicle
  • $500 to $2500 fine plus $500 more if minor under 15 is present in vehicle
  • 1 to 5 year(s) license suspension
  • Vehicle forfeiture
  • $50 special trauma fund surcharge
  • 240 hours community service
  • Successful completion of court ordered substance abuse education program

Hawaii’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended. In addition to the above punishments, all convicted DUI offenders must complete a court-referred substance abuse program.