Save up to $400 on
Hawaii car insurance

Hawaii Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, Hawaii has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official Hawaii driver license.

Hawaii Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL is intended for aspiring drivers 15 ? to 17 ? years old.

15 1/2 years old is the minimum age at which someone can obtain an instruction permit. This is valid for one year. Instruction permits must be held for at least 180 days during which a licensed driver at least 21 years old must be seated next to the driver at all times.

At 16, teens may obtain a provisional license, which must be held for six months before an unrestricted license can be obtained. The teen must also be at least 17 years old and have a clean driving record.

To obtain an instruction permit, the following requirements must be met:

  • Parental or legal guardian consent
  • Two type of ID
  • Social Security card
  • $10 fee
  • Pass vision and road tests

Hawaii Teen Driver Restrictions
  • Anyone who holds a provisional license in Hawaii cannot drive between 11 pm and 5 am unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian sitting in the front passenger seat at all times.
  • Provisional drivers may drive between these hours unsupervised when going to and from school or work.
  • Provisional licensees may not have more than one passenger under 18 unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
  • The occupants must seatbelts at all times

Violation of these laws could result in:
  • 90-day license suspension for a first offense; six months for a second offense.
  • Any traffic related offenses will result in 6-month license suspension for a first offense; 12 months for a second offense.