Save up to $400 on
Idaho car insurance

Idaho DUI Laws

In the state of Idaho you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Idaho DUI Offense

  • Up to 6 months imprisonment
  • Up to $1000 fine
  • 90 to 180 days license suspension
  • Restricted license possible after 30 days
  • Alcohol evaluation and treatment possible

Second Idaho DUI Offense
  • 10 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • Up to $2000 fine
  • Minimum 1 year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock device required after suspension is fulfilled
  • Alcohol evaluation and treatment possible

Third Idaho DUI Offense
  • Felony conviction
  • 30 days to 5 years imprisonment
  • Up to $5000 fine
  • 1 to 5 year(s) license suspension
  • Ignition interlock device required after suspension is fulfilled
  • Alcohol evaluation and treatment possible

Idaho’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a DUI test, your license will be seized and you will be assessed a $250 fine. The driver will have a chance to have his or her license reinstated after a hearing.

If you are convicted of a DUI offense, your license will be revoked for one year and two years for a subsequent refusal if it within 10 years of the first. However, if the court finds that the officer did not have legal cause to stop the driver, he or she will not have their license suspended.