Save up to $400 on
Idaho car insurance

Idaho Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, Idaho has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official Idaho driver license.

Idaho Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL is intended for aspiring drivers 14 ? to 17 years old.

During a six-month instruction period, teens must remain violation free before they can apply for a Supervised Instruction Permit (SIP). Thereafter the teen must:

  • Gain 50 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel experience, including 10 hours of nighttime driving.
  • Complete 30 hours of classroom instruction
  • Log 6 hours of observation in a training car
  • Log 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training with an instructor

A teen wishing to obtain an instruction permit must be 14 ? years old and submit the follow:
  • Photo ID
  • Birth certificate
  • Social Security card
  • Proof of enrollment in school or graduation
  • Parent’s or legal guardian’s signature
  • $30 fee

In addition, teens must meet the following requirements to obtain their Idaho driver’s license:
  • Pass written and vision tests
  • Accompanied by parent or legal guardian if under 18 years old
  • Pay $14.50 fee
  • May also be asked to submit:
    • SIP
    • Driving program certificate
    • Social Security card
    • Birth certificate or other proof of age

Idaho Teen Driver Restrictions
  • Teens under 17 must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years or older
  • Cannot have more than one passenger under 17 who isn’t an immediate family member
  • Occupants must wear their seatbelts at all times
  • Teens under 16 are not allowed to drive at night unless accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years or older
  • Failure to obey these laws will result in a warning letter for a first offense; 30-day license suspension for a second; 60 days for a third offense.