Save up to $400 on
Illinois car insurance

Illinois Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, Illinois has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official Illinois driver license.

Illinois Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL is intended for aspiring drivers 15 to 17 years old.

15-year-olds can enter the permit phase, which is valid for two years. They must pass written and vision tests and provide the following:

  • Birth certificate or US passport as proof of age
  • Social Security card
  • Proof of residency
  • Driver education course proof of enrollment
  • Permission from parent or legal guardian

Before teens 16 to 17 years old can enter the initial licensing phase:
  • Those holding a permit must also obtain consent from a parent or legal guardian
  • They must also accumulate a minimum of 50 hours behind-the-wheel experience, including 10 hours nighttime driving.
  • Must show proof of completion of a state-approved driver education course
  • Teens must be accompanied by or have signed consent form from parent or legal guardian

Teens 18 to 20 years old and with a clean driving record can enter the full licensing phase:
  • Drivers under 18 must submit their instruction permit and two form of ID to the DMV
  • Several certification forms must be submitted

Illinois Teen Driver Restrictions
  • Permit and initial licensed drivers cannot drive 10 pm to 6 am Sunday through Thursday; 11 pm to 6 am Friday and Saturday.
  • Must maintain clean driving records
  • All passengers under 19 must wear a seatbelt
  • All drivers under 18 must may not use a cell phone except in emergencies
  • Permit drivers may only have one passenger, a licensed driver over 21, and one passenger per seat belt. Initial drivers are no permitted to have more than one person under 20 unless that person is a sibling or close relative.

Violation of these laws can result in the following:
  • Attendance of traffic safety program
  • Court supervision
  • Letter to the parent
  • 6-month extension of passenger restrictions
  • 30-day driver’s license suspension
  • Remedial driver education course
  • $70 fine