Save up to $400 on
Indiana car insurance

Indiana DUI Laws

In the state of Indiana you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08% (commercial drivers 0.04%, under-21 drivers 0.02%), the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Indiana DUI Offense

  • Class “C” misdemeanor
  • 30 to 60 days imprisonment or up to 1 year if BAC is 0.15% and above
  • Up to $500 or up to $5000 if BAC is 0.15% and above
  • Up to 2 year license suspension
  • Possible ignition interlock device
  • Possible community service
  • Possible attendance to a victim impact panel
  • Possible substance abuse education
  • Possible urine testing

Second Indiana DUI Offense
  • Class “D” felony
  • 5 days to 3 years imprisonment
  • Up to $10,000 fine
  • 180 days to 2 year(s) license suspension
  • Up to 2-year probation
  • Possible ignition interlock device
  • Possible community service
  • Possible attendance to a victim impact panel
  • Possible substance abuse education
  • Possible urine testing

Third Indiana DUI Offense
  • Class “D” felony
  • 10 days to 3 years imprisonment
  • Up to $10,000 fine
  • 1 to 10 year(s) license suspension
  • Up to 2 year probation
  • Additional penalties if judged a habitual offender
  • Possible ignition interlock device
  • Possible community service
  • Possible attendance to a victim impact panel
  • Possible substance abuse education
  • Possible urine testing

Indiana’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a chemical test, your license will be suspended for one year.