Save up to $400 on
Iowa car insurance

Iowa DUI Laws

In the state of Iowa you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08% (commercial drivers 0.04%, under-21 drivers 0.02%), the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Iowa DUI Offense

  • Minimum 2 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $625 to $1250 fine
  • 180-day license suspension
  • Restricted license possible if BAC is below 0.10%
  • Ignition interlock device required if BAC is above 0.10%
  • No restricted license possible if BAC is above 0.15%
  • Possible substance abuse evaluation and treatment
  • Possible substance abuse reality program
  • Possible attendance to drinking drivers course
  • Possible community service

Second Iowa DUI Offense
  • Minimum 7 days to 2 years imprisonment
  • $1875 to $6250 fine
  • 2-year license suspension
  • Restricted license possible after 1 year with ignition interlock device
  • Possible substance abuse evaluation and treatment
  • Possible substance abuse reality program
  • Possible attendance to drinking drivers course
  • Possible community service
  • Possible vehicle impoundment

Third Iowa DUI Offense
  • Class “D” felony
  • Minimum 30 days to 5 years imprisonment
  • $3125 to $9375 fine
  • 6-year license suspension
  • Restricted license possible after 1 year with ignition interlock device
  • Possible substance abuse evaluation and treatment
  • Possible substance abuse reality program
  • Possible attendance to drinking drivers course
  • Possible community service
  • Possible vehicle impoundment
  • Possible attendance to program for supervision and treatment of offenders

Iowa’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended for one year with no restricted driver’s license until after 90 days and you must have an ignition interlock device installed first.