Save up to $400 on
Kansas car insurance

Kansas DUI Laws

In the state of Kansas you will be charged with Operating While Intoxicated (OWI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Kansas DUI Offense

  • Minimum 2 days imprisonment or 100 hours community service
  • $500 to $1000 fine
  • 30-day license suspension
  • 330-day license restriction after suspension
  • Possible vehicle impoundment up to 1 year
  • Possible court-ordered treatment possible

Second Kansas DUI Offense
  • Minimum 90 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $1000 to $1500 fine
  • 1 year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock device required after suspension
  • Possible vehicle impoundment up to 1 year
  • Possible court-ordered treatment possible

Third Kansas DUI Offense
  • Felony offense
  • Minimum 90 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $1500 to $2500 fine
  • 1 year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock device required after suspension
  • Possible vehicle impoundment up to 1 year
  • Possible court-ordered treatment possible

Fourth Kansas DUI Offense
  • Felony offense
  • Minimum 90 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • 1 year probation
  • $2500+ fine
  • 1 year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock device required after suspension
  • Possible vehicle impoundment up to 1 year
  • Possible court-ordered treatment possible

Kansas’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected OWI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended for one year.