Save up to $400 on
Kentucky car insurance

Kentucky DUI Laws

In the state of Kentucky you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Kentucky DUI Offense

  • 2 to 30 days imprisonment
  • Mandatory 4-day imprisonment for aggravated DUI
  • $200 to $500 fine
  • 30 to 120-day license suspension
  • 90 day alcohol or drug treatment program
  • 48 hours to 30 days community service

Second Kentucky DUI Offense
  • 7 days to 6 months imprisonment
  • Mandatory 14-day imprisonment for aggravated DUI
  • $350 to $500 fine
  • 12 to 18-month license suspension
  • 1 year alcohol or drug treatment program
  • 10 days to 6 months community service

Third Kentucky DUI Offense
  • 30 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • Mandatory 60-day imprisonment for aggravated DUI
  • $500 to $1000 fine
  • 24 to 36-month license suspension
  • 1 year alcohol or drug treatment program
  • 10 days to 1 year community service

Fourth Kentucky DUI Offense
  • Felony offense
  • Minimum 120-day imprisonment
  • Mandatory 240-day imprisonment for aggravated DUI
  • $500 to $1000 fine
  • 60-month license suspension

Aggravated DUI Criteria
  • 30 mph over limit
  • Driving wrong way on limited access highway
  • Causing an accident resulting in injury or death
  • BAC above 0.18%
  • DUI test refusal
  • Passenger(s) under 12 years old

Kentucky’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a chemical test, your license will be suspended for 30 to 120 day. A second refusal results in 12 to 18 month suspension and a third refusal results in a 24 to 36 month suspension.