Save up to $400 on
Kentucky car insurance

Kentucky Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, Kentucky has adopted a Graduated Teen Licensing law. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official Kentucky driver license.

Kentucky Graduated Teen Licensing Requirements
The Graduated Teen Licensing system is intended for aspiring drivers at least 16 years old.

Teens must hold a learner’s permit for six month during which time they can gain behind-the-wheel experience. The teen must complete at least 60 hours of practice, ten of which must be at night.

  • To obtain a learner’s permit teens must:
    • Be at least 16 years old
    • Pass vision and written test
    • Provide proof of age and Social Security card
    • Have permission from a parent/legal guardian

    To obtain an unrestricted license, teens must:
    • Take a road skills driving test
    • Provide proof of registration and insurance

    Kentucky Teen Driver Restrictions
    • Drivers under 18 who amass more than 7 points on their driving record will have their license suspended.
    • Drivers 18 to 21 may not accumulate more than 12 points.