Save up to $400 on
Louisiana car insurance

Louisiana DUI Laws

In the state of Louisiana you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Louisiana DUI Offense

  • Up to 6 months imprisonment
  • $1000 fine
  • 90-day license suspension
  • 6-month license suspension if driver is under 21

Second Louisiana DUI Offense
  • 48 hours to 6 months imprisonment
  • $1000 fine
  • 1 year license suspension

Third Louisiana DUI Offense
  • Felony offense
  • 45 days to 5 years imprisonment
  • $2000 fine
  • 2-year license suspension
  • 6-week inpatient substance abuse treatment
  • 30 days community service
  • Home incarceration

Fourth Louisiana DUI Offense
  • Felony offense
  • 75 days to 30 years imprisonment
  • $5000 fine
  • 2-year license suspension
  • 6-week inpatient substance abuse treatment
  • 40 days community service
  • Home incarceration
  • Possible vehicle seizure

Louisiana’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a chemical test, your license will be suspended for 180 days. If you refuse a test a second time, your license will be suspended for 545 days.