Save up to $400 on
Louisiana car insurance

Louisiana Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, Louisiana has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official Louisiana driver license.

Louisiana Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL is intended for aspiring drivers 15 to 17 years old.

To obtain a learner permit:

  • Be at least 15 years old but less than 16
  • Complete state-approved driver education course
  • Pass a vision and written test
  • Provide written consent from parent/legal guardian
  • Provide two forms of ID and a Social Security card
  • Provide proof of enrollment in or graduation from school

To obtain an intermediate license:
  • Be at least 16 years old
  • Pass a road skills test
  • Provide parental consent

To obtain a learner license:
  • Be at least 17 years old
  • Pass a vision and written test
  • Pass a road skills test
  • Provide parental consent if under 18
  • Meet all requirements for learner’s permit and intermediate license

Louisiana Teen Driver Restrictions
  • Learner’s permit holders must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old in the front seat with them at all times.
  • Intermediate license holders, 17 and older, may drive unsupervised with passengers.
  • Intermediate license holders, 17 and under, may not drive between 11 pm and 5 am unless accompanied by a licensed sibling at least 18 years old, or licensed driver 21 and over.
  • Anyone who violates these laws may have their restricted period extended or lose their license altogether.