Save up to $400 on
Maine car insurance

Maine DUI Laws

In the state of Maine you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Maine DUI Offense

  • Up to 30 days imprisonment
  • $500 fine
  • 90-day license suspension

Second Maine DUI Offense
  • Up to 6 months imprisonment
  • $1000 fine
  • 3-year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock possible after 9 months

Third Maine DUI Offense
  • 9 months and 1 day imprisonment
  • $1000 fine
  • 6-year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock possible after 3 years

Fourth Maine DUI Offense
  • 2 years imprisonment
  • $1000 fine
  • 6-year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock possible after suspension

Maine’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a chemical test, you will be subjected to aggravated penalties such as additional jail time, fines, and longer suspensions.