Save up to $400 on
Maine car insurance

Maine Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, Maine has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official Maine driver license.

Maine Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL is intended for aspiring drivers at least 15 years old.

To obtain an instruction permit:

  • Be at least 15 years old
  • Complete state-approved driver education course
  • Pass a vision and written test
  • Provide proof of birth
  • Pay $10 fee

To obtain a learner’s permit:
  • Complete 35 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel training, 5 of which must be night driving
  • Take a written test
  • Meet the requirement for instruction permit

To obtain an intermediate license, the applicants must hold a learner’s permit for 6 months and pass a road skills test.

Maine Teen Driver Restrictions
  • Instruction/Learner’s permit drivers must be accompanied by a 20-year-old licensed driver at all times. In addition, the driver must have held a license for two years.
  • Intermediate drivers may not transport passengers other than siblings unless accompanied by a 20-year-old licensed driver at all times. This restriction last for the first six months of licensure.
  • Intermediate licensees cannot drive between 12 am and 5 am.
  • Violating any GDL laws means the restrictions could be extended up to 6 months.
  • A Maine driver’s license carries certain provisions for the first two years. Anyone convicted of a moving violation during this time could have their license suspended for 30 days.