Save up to $400 on
Maryland car insurance

Maryland DUI Laws

In the state of Maryland you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone. Maryland also considers you to be Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) if your BAC is 0.07%.

First Maryland DUI Offense

  • Up to 1 year imprisonment
  • Up to 2 years if minor is present in vehicle
  • Minimum 6 month license suspension
  • Up to $1000 fine
  • Up to $2000 fine if minor is present in vehicle

First Maryland DWI Offense
  • Up to 2 months imprisonment
  • Up to 6 months if minor is present in vehicle
  • Minimum 6 month license suspension
  • Up to $1500 fine
  • Up to $1000 fine if minor is present in vehicle

Second Maryland DUI Offense
  • Up to 2 years imprisonment
  • Up to 3 years if minor is present in vehicle
  • 1 year license suspension if offense is within 5 years of previous offense
  • Up to $2000 fine
  • Up to $3000 fine if minor is present in vehicle
  • Possible ignition interlock after 45 days suspension

Second Maryland DWI Offense
  • Up to 1 year imprisonment
  • Minimum 1 year license suspension
  • Up to $500 fine
  • Up to $2500 fine if minor is present in vehicle

Third Maryland DUI Offense
  • Up to 3 years imprisonment
  • Up to 4 years if minor is present in vehicle
  • Minimum 18-month license suspension
  • Up to $3000 fine
  • Up to $4000 fine if minor is present in vehicle

Maryland’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license may be suspended for 120 days. If you refuse a second time your license will be automatically suspended for one year.