Save up to $400 on
Maryland car insurance

Maryland Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, Maryland has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official Maryland driver license.

Maryland Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL is intended for aspiring drivers 15 to 17 years old.

The GDL does not apply to the following:

  • Those 18 years and older
  • 17-year-olds who’ve had license for more than 6 months
  • Married 16-year-olds who are the head-of-household
  • Emancipated minors


To obtain a learner license:
  • Be at least 15 years old
  • Provide proof of age if 15 years old
  • Provide two forms of ID (one photo ID if 16 to 17 years old)
  • Proof of enrollment in or graduation from school
  • Social Security card
  • $5 test fee
  • $25 license fee

16 to 17-year-olds must obtain parent/guardian permission to obtain a licensed and drive unsupervised. In addition they must provide following:
  • Signed verification form from the Department of Public Safety
  • Complete 30 hours of behind-the-wheel training or
  • Complete state-approved driver education course

Maryland Teen Driver Restrictions
  • Anyone under 18 cannot drive between 12 am and 6 am, unless accompanied by a parent/legal guardian or licensed driver at least 21.
  • A teen can only drive unaccompanied if they are going to and from work, a school sanctioned event, a religious event, or in case of emergency.
  • Teens under 18 may not have more than four passengers with them at any time, one of which must be a parent.

Violation of these laws could result in:
  • An extension of the restrictive period for six months or until the driver reaches 18 years of age.
  • A second violation or other traffic-related conviction, the license could be suspended for 60 days or until the driver reaches 18 years of age.