Save up to $400 on
Massachusetts car insurance

Massachusetts DUI Laws

In the state of Massachusetts you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Massachusetts DUI Offense

  • Up to 30 months imprisonment
  • $500 to $5000 fine
  • $250 assessment fine
  • $50 DUI victim trust fund fine
  • 1 year license suspension
  • Court assigned treatment program

Second Massachusetts DUI Offense
  • 30 days to 30 months imprisonment
  • $600 to $10,000 fine
  • 2-year license suspension
  • Possible hardship license after 1 year
  • Ignition interlock device required

Third Massachusetts DUI Offense
  • 150 days to 5 years imprisonment
  • $1000 to $15,000 fine
  • 8-year license suspension
  • Possible hardship license after 2 year
  • Ignition interlock device required

Fourth Massachusetts DUI Offense
  • 1 to 5 year(s) imprisonment
  • $1500 to $25,000 fine
  • 10-year license suspension
  • Possible hardship license after 5 year
  • Ignition interlock device required

Fifth Massachusetts DUI Offense
  • 2 to 5 years imprisonment
  • $2000 to $50,000 fine
  • Permanent license suspension

Massachusetts’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a chemical test, your license will be suspended 180 days if you have no prior DUI offense. If you refuse a test and you have a previous DUI conviction, your license will be suspended for 3 years. The penalties increase to 5 years if you two priors and a permanent suspension if you have three.