Save up to $400 on
Massachusetts car insurance

Massachusetts Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, Massachusetts has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official Massachusetts driver license.

Massachusetts Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL or Junior Operator License (JOL) is intended for aspiring drivers at least 16 years old.

A learner’s permit stipulates:

  • Teen is at least 16 year old
  • The driver will hold it for at least 6 months
  • Driver has completed 30 hours of classroom instruction
  • 6 to 8 hours of behind-the-wheel training
  • 4 to 6 hours observing another student driver
  • 12 hours of supervised driving

To obtain a learner’s permit or provisional license, the teen must:
  • Provide a completed application with parent/guardian’s signature
  • Provide Social Security card
  • Provide proof of age
  • Pass vision and road skills test
  • Maintain clean record

Massachusetts Teen Driver Restrictions
  • Learner’s permit drivers may not drive unsupervised for any reason.
  • JOL holders may not drive unsupervised from 12 am to 5 am.
  • They may not have passengers under 18 unless supervised by a 21-year-old licensed driver from the first 6 months
  • Must hold a JOL until age 18.

Any permit-holders caught driving unsupervised will have their permit revoked for 60 days; will have to reapply and pay a $100 fee. A second offense will incur the following:
  • 180-day license suspension
  • Mandatory attendance to driver retraining course
  • Reapplication and $100 reinstatement fee

A third offense carries a 12-month suspension, as well as reapplication and $100 reinstatement fee.

Violating passenger restriction laws means your license will be suspended for 60 days and you will have to pay a $100 reinstatement fee.

A second offense:
  • 180-day license suspension
  • Mandatory attendance to driver retraining course
  • Reapplication and $100 reinstatement fee

A third offense:
  • 12-month license suspension
  • Must take driver’s exam
  • Mandatory attendance to driver retraining course
  • Reapplication and $100 reinstatement fee