Save up to $400 on
Michigan car insurance

Michigan DUI Laws

In the state of Michigan you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Michigan DUI Offense

  • Up to 93 days imprisonment
  • $100 to $500 fine
  • $1000 driver responsibility fee
  • 6-month license suspension
  • 6 license points
  • Possible restricted license after 30 days
  • Possible 360 hours community service
  • Possible ignition interlock
  • Possible vehicle immobilization

Second Michigan DUI Offense
  • 5 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $200 to $1000 fine
  • $1000 driver responsibility fee
  • Minimum 1 year license suspension
  • 6 license points
  • Ignition interlock
  • 90 to 180 day vehicle immobilization unless vehicle is forfeited
  • License plate confiscation
  • Possible 30 to 90 days community service

Third Michigan DUI Offense
  • Felony offense
  • 30 days to 1 year imprisonment with probation
  • 1 to 5 year(s) imprisonment without probation
  • $200 to $1000 fine
  • $1000 driver responsibility fee
  • Minimum 1 year license suspension
  • 6 license points
  • Ignition interlock
  • 90 to 180 day vehicle immobilization unless vehicle is forfeited
  • License plate confiscation
  • Possible 60 to 180 days community service

Michigan’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a chemical test, your license will be suspended for one year and you will have six points assessed to your driving record. If you refuse a second time within seven years of the first refusal, your license will be suspended for two years and you will not be eligible for a restricted license.