Save up to $400 on
Minnesota car insurance

Minnesota DUI Laws

In the state of Minnesota you will be charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Minnesota DWI Offense

  • Up to 90 days imprisonment
  • $1000 fine
  • $250 license reinstatement fee
  • $430 license reinstatement surcharge
  • $24 driver license application fee
  • 90-day license suspension
  • 180-day license suspension if BAC is above 0.20% and/or minor under 16 present in vehicle
  • 1 year license suspension for DWI test refusal
  • Restricted license possible after 15 days if non-aggravating DWI
  • Possible Ignition interlock

Second Minnesota DWI Offense
  • Up to 1 year imprisonment
  • $3000 fine
  • $250 license reinstatement fee
  • $430 license reinstatement surcharge
  • $24 driver license application fee
  • 180-day license suspension
  • 360-day license suspension if BAC is above 0.20% and/or minor under 16 present in vehicle
  • 1-year license suspension for DWI test refusal
  • Restricted license possible after 90 days if non-aggravating DWI
  • Possible Ignition interlock
  • 1-year administrative license plate impoundment
  • Specially coded plate issued

Third Minnesota DWI Offense
  • Up to 1 year imprisonment
  • $3000 fine
  • Indefinite license suspension pending 1-year of treatment/rehab
  • 1-year license suspension for DWI test refusal
  • Possible Ignition interlock
  • 1-year administrative license plate impoundment
  • Specially coded plate issued

Fourth Minnesota DWI Offense
  • First degree felony conviction
  • Up to 7 years imprisonment
  • $14,000 fine

Minnesota’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended for one year. In order to have your license subsequently reinstated, you will have to pay a $680 fee, pass a DWI knowledge test, a driver’s license application as well as a chemical assessment.