Save up to $400 on
Minnesota car insurance

Minnesota Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, Minnesota has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official Minnesota driver license.

Minnesota Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL is intended for aspiring drivers at least 15 years old. The Minnesota GDL has a total of three phases.

Phase I or Instruction Permit:

  • Teen must be at least 15 years old
  • Must complete at least 30 hours of classroom instruction
  • Enrollment in state-approved driver education course
  • Completed application with parent/legal guardian’s signature
  • Pay $10.25 fee

Phase II or Provisional License:
  • Teen must be at least 16 years old
  • Must complete driver education course
  • Complete road test
  • Instruction permit must be held for at least 6 months
  • Complete application
  • Pay $13.25

Phase III or Full License:
  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Must hold Provisional License for one year
  • Clean driving record
  • Complete application
  • 10 hours of supervised driving while holding Provisional License

Minnesota Teen Driver Restrictions
  • Phase I drivers must be accompanied by a parent/legal guardian or designated driver 21 years or older at all times.
  • Phase II drivers cannot drive between 12 am and 5 am unless accompanied by a licensed driver, 25 years or older.
  • May not have more than one passenger under 20 years old for first 6 months, unless passenger(s) is an immediate family member.
  • During the second 6 months, driver may not have more than three passengers under the age of 20.
  • Failure to abide by these laws could result in delay in or suspension of license.