Save up to $400 on
Missouri car insurance

Missouri Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, Missouri has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official Missouri driver license.

Missouri Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL is intended for aspiring drivers at least 15 years old.

To obtain an Instruction permit:

  • Teen must be at least 15 years old
  • Pass written and road sign test
  • Pass vision test
  • Parent must accompany teen and sign permission form
  • Provide proof of age and citizenship
  • Proof of residency
  • Social Security card

Teen must complete 40 hours of behind-the-wheel training, including 10 hours at night and must hold instruction permit for 6 months and have a clean record.

To obtain an intermediate license:
  • Meet above requirements
  • Pass driving test
  • Pay $7.50 fee

An intermediate license is good for two years. To apply for a full license:
  • Must be at least 18 years old
  • Pay $10 fee
  • Pass vision test
  • Maintain clean driving record

Missouri Teen Driver Restrictions
  • Anyone under 16 years old must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or certified driving instructor who must be in the passenger seat at all times.
  • Drivers over 16 may be accompanied by a driver over 21 years old who must be in the passenger seat at all times.
  • Everyone in the vehicle must wear their seatbelts.
  • Intermediate license holders may not drive between 1 am and 5 am unless accompanied by licensed driver who is 21 or older.
  • Licensee must be driving to or from school, work, or an emergency.
  • Violating any of these laws could result in license suspension and/or fines, in some instances, the license may be suspended until the driver turns 21.