Save up to $400 on
Montana car insurance

Montana DUI Laws

In the state of Montana you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Montana DUI Offense

  • 1 day to 6 months imprisonment
  • 2 days to 12 months imprisonment if minor under 16 present in vehicle
  • $300 to $1000 fine
  • $600 to $2000 fine if minor under 16 present in vehicle
  • 6-month license suspension
  • Completion of chemical dependency education course or treatment
  • Possible ignition interlock
  • Possible restricted license

Second Montana DUI Offense
  • 7 days to 6 months imprisonment
  • 14 days to 12 months imprisonment if minor under 16 present in vehicle
  • $600 to $1000 fine
  • $1200 to $2000 fine if minor under 16 present in vehicle
  • 1-year license suspension
  • Possible restricted license after 45 days if offender pays for ignition interlock or forfeits vehicle
  • Completion of chemical dependency education course or treatment

Third Montana DUI Offense
  • 30 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • 60 days to 12 months imprisonment if minor under 16 present in vehicle
  • $1000 to $5000 fine
  • $2000 to $10,000 fine if minor under 16 present in vehicle
  • 1-year license suspension
  • Possible restricted license after 45 days if offender pays for ignition interlock or forfeits vehicle
  • Completion of chemical dependency education course or treatment

Montana’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended for 6 months. Any subsequent refusals will result in a 1-year suspension. You may also be ordered to have an ignition interlock installed at your expense.