Save up to $400 on
Montana car insurance

Montana Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, Montana has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official Montana driver license.

Montana Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL is intended for aspiring drivers at least 14 ? years old and consists of three steps: a Permit Period, First-Year Restricted License, and Full Privilege Driver License.

In order to enter the Permit Period the teen must be at least 14 ? years old and obtain a Traffic Education Learner’s License (TELL).

To obtain a Learner’s License:

  • Must be at least 15 years old
  • Complete state-approved driver education program
  • Pass driver’s license test
  • Have clean criminal and medical record

The teen must complete 50 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel training, including 10 hours at night and must hold the Learner’s License for 6 months before applying for a First-Year Restricted License. The Learner’s License is good for 12 months.

To obtain a First-Year Restricted License:
  • Must satisfy all requirements of Permit Period
  • Provide proof of identity, residency, and authorized presence
  • Provide a completed GDL form signed by a parent or legal guardian

The First-Year Restricted License has restrictions associated with it, which will remain in effect until one year after the driver obtains it or on a teen’s 18th birthday, whichever comes first.

Montana Teen Driver Restrictions
During the Permit Period:
  • TELL drivers must be supervised by a parent or legal guardian at all times.
  • Learner’s License drivers may be supervised must be supervised by a parent or legal guardian, but may also be supervised by a driver designated by the parent/guardian.
  • All passengers must wear seatbelts at all times
  • No alcohol or drug-related offenses prior to the First-Year Restricted License

First-Year Restricted License period:
  • Teens cannot operate a motor vehicle between 11 pm and 5 am unless they are going to and from work, a school sanctioned event, a religious event, or in case of emergency.
  • During the first six months, the driver may not have more than one passenger including a supervising, licensed 18-year or older driver and /or immediate family members,
  • During the second six months, the driver may not have more than three passengers including a supervising licensed 18-year or older driver and/or immediate family members.

Violation of the First-Year Restricted License laws will mean 20 to 60 hours of community service for a first offense and 6-month license suspension for a second offense.