Save up to $400 on
Nebraska car insurance

Nebraska DUI Laws

In the state of Nebraska you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Nebraska DUI Offense

  • Minimum 7 days to 60 days imprisonment
  • Up to $500 fine
  • Up to 6 month license suspension
  • 1 year license suspension if BAC is 0.15% or above
  • Possible alcohol treatment/assessment

Second Nebraska DUI Offense
  • Minimum 30 days to 90 days imprisonment
  • Minimum 90 days to 1 year imprisonment if BAC is 0.15% or above
  • Up to $500 fine
  • Up to $1000 fine if BAC is 0.15% or above
  • Up to 1 year license suspension
  • 1 to 15 year(s) license suspension if BAC is 0.15% or above
  • 5 days to 8 months vehicle immobilization
  • Possible vehicle impoundment
  • Possible ignition interlock
  • Possible alcohol treatment/assessment

Third Nebraska DUI Offense
  • Minimum 90 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • Minimum 180 days to 5 years imprisonment if BAC is 0.15% or above
  • Up to $600 fine
  • Up to $10,000 fine if BAC is 0.15% or above
  • 2 to 15 year(s) license suspension
  • 5 to 15 year(s) license suspension if BAC is 0.15% or above
  • 5 days to 8 months vehicle immobilization
  • Possible ignition interlock
  • Possible alcohol treatment/assessment

Fourth Nebraska DUI Offense
  • Class 3 felony conviction
  • Minimum 180 days to 5 years imprisonment
  • Minimum 1 year to 20 years imprisonment if BAC is 0.15% or above
  • Up to $10,000 fine
  • Up to $25,000 fine if BAC is 0.15% or above
  • 15-year license suspension
  • 5 days to 8 months vehicle immobilization
  • Possible ignition interlock
  • Possible alcohol treatment/assessment

Fifth Nebraska DUI Offense
  • Class 3 felony conviction
  • Minimum 1 year to 20 years imprisonment
  • Minimum 1 year to 50 years imprisonment if BAC is 0.15% or above
  • Up to $25,000 fine
  • 15-year license suspension
  • 5 days to 8 months vehicle immobilization
  • Possible ignition interlock
  • Possible alcohol treatment/assessment

Nebraska’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license could be suspended for a year.