Save up to $400 on
Nevada car insurance

Nevada Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, Nevada has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official Nevada driver license.

Nevada Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL is intended for aspiring drivers who are at least 15 years old.

The Nevada GDL has three steps:

  • Driver Education
  • Instruction Permit
  • Full Driver’s License

At 15, teens can enroll in a driver education course. All Nevada drivers under 18 years old must complete a driver education course. Even if a child is home schooled, he or she must take a driver education course at a professional driving school or local high school. There are no exceptions.
  • At 15 ? years old, teens can obtain an instruction permit for which they must do or provide the following:
    • Pass vision and written test
    • Provide proof of age, residence, and identity
    • Social Security card
    • Parent or legal guardian must accompany teen to sign a financial responsibility form
    • Pay $22 licensing fee
    • Pay $25 testing fee

    Teens must complete at least 50 hour of behind-the-wheel practice, including 10 hours at night. In addition, you must obtain a DMW Beginning Driver Experience Log (DLD-130) so you can track your hours. Teens living in rural areas must log at least 100 hours of practice.

    To obtain a full license:
    • Must be at least 16 years old
    • Hold instruction permit for at least 6 months
    • Maintain clean driving record
    • Submit driver experience log
    • Have permission from parent/legal guardian
    • Complete driver education course
    • Have registered and insured vehicle to take test
    • Pay $10 fee

    Nevada Teen Driver Restrictions
    • Instruction permit must be accompanied by a licensed driver, at least 21 years or older, at all times in the front passenger seat.
    • Designated driver must be licensed for one full year.
    • Drivers under 18 cannot have passengers for first six months from date of permit issuance, except for immediate family members
    • Cannot drive between 10 pm and 5 am unless going to or from work or school.
    • Violation of these laws can result in suspension of all driving privileges.