Save up to $400 on
New Jersey car insurance

New Jersey DUI Laws

In the state of New Jersey you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First New Jersey DUI Offense

  • Up to 30 days imprisonment
  • $250 to $400
  • $300 to $500 if BAC is 0.10% and above
  • 3-month license suspension
  • 7-month to 1-year license suspension if BAC is 0.10% and above
  • Possible ignition interlock
  • Minimum $525 DWI fee
  • 3-year $1000 auto insurance surcharge
  • 12-hours intoxicated driver resource center

Second New Jersey DUI Offense
  • Up to 90 days imprisonment
  • $500 to $1000
  • 2-year license suspension
  • Possible ignition interlock
  • Minimum $525 DWI fee
  • 3-year $1000 auto insurance surcharge
  • 30 days community service

Third New Jersey DUI Offense
  • Up to 180 days imprisonment
  • $1000 fine
  • 10-year license suspension
  • Possible ignition interlock
  • Minimum $525 DWI fee
  • 3-year $1500 auto insurance surcharge

New Jersey’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended for one year and you will face a $250 to $500 fine. If you refuse a second time, your license will be suspended for two years and if you refuse three times, you will lose your license for 10 years.