Save up to $400 on
New Jersey car insurance

New Jersey Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, New Jersey has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official New Jersey driver license.

New Jersey Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL is intended for aspiring drivers 16 years old. The first step is to complete Permit Phase in which teens must:

  • Pass written and vision test
  • Complete at least 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training (optional for 17 to 20-year-olds.
  • Complete at least 50 hours certified practice driving, including 10 hours at night
  • Display GDL decal on vehicle
  • Complete parent/guardian and teen orientation

Upon satisfying all requirements of the Permit Phase, teens enter the Probationary Phase, in which teens must:
  • Be at least 17 years old
  • Pass road skills test
  • Hold Probationary license for at least 12 months
  • Display GDL decal on vehicle

To obtain a Permit or Probationary license, the following items must be presented to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC):
  • Two form of ID, including one with a photo
  • Social Security card
  • Proof of residence
  • Pay $10 fee for permit; $24 for license

New Jersey Teen Driver Restrictions
  • Permit and Probationary drivers may not have more than one passenger under the age of 25
  • Cannot drive between 11 pm and 5 am
  • All vehicle occupants must wear a seatbelt at all times
  • Probationary drivers cannot drive at night unless accompanied by a licensed driver, at least 25 or older, and must be going to or from work, church, or an emergency situation.

Violating these laws could result in:
  • Delay of full licensure for up to 60 days and mandatory attendance of state-approved driver education course
  • A second offense carries a 60-day suspension and subsequent 120-delay in full licensure
  • A third offense carried a 90-day suspension and subsequent 180-day delay in full licensure
  • Any passenger and/or seat belt violations carry an additional $100 fine(s)