Save up to $400 on
New Mexico car insurance

New Mexico DUI Laws

In the state of New Mexico you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First New Mexico DUI Offense

  • Up to 90 days imprisonment
  • Up to 1 year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock for 1 year
  • Must attend DWI school
  • Required alcohol evaluation
  • Community service
  • Possible alcohol treatment

Second New Mexico DUI Offense
  • Minimum 96 hours to 364 days imprisonment
  • $500 to $1000 fine
  • 2-year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock for 2 years
  • Required alcohol evaluation
  • Community service
  • Possible alcohol treatment
  • Up to 5 years probation

Third New Mexico DUI Offense
  • Minimum 30 days to 364 days imprisonment
  • $750 to $1000 fine
  • 3-year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock for 3 years
  • Required alcohol evaluation
  • Community service
  • Possible alcohol treatment
  • Up to 5 years probation

Fourth New Mexico DUI Offense
  • Felony offense
  • Minimum 6 months to 18 months imprisonment
  • Minimum $5000 fine
  • Indefinite license suspension pending 5-year review
  • Indefinite ignition interlock pending 5-year review
  • Required alcohol evaluation
  • Possible alcohol treatment

Fifth New Mexico DUI Offense
  • Felony offense
  • Minimum 1 year to 2 years imprisonment
  • Minimum $5000 fine
  • Indefinite license suspension pending 5-year review
  • Indefinite ignition interlock pending 5-year review
  • Required alcohol evaluation
  • Possible alcohol treatment

New Mexico’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DWI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended for one year and you will be charged with aggravated DWI.