Save up to $400 on
New Mexico car insurance

New Mexico Teen Auto Insurance

Like many other states, New Mexico has adopted a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system. This is intended to reduce the number of accidents caused inexperienced teenage drivers. The system is designed to gradually introduce inexperienced drivers to more and more driving privileges as they gain behind-the-wheel experience culminating in an official New Mexico driver license.

New Mexico Graduated Driver License Requirements
The GDL is intended for aspiring drivers 15 years old.

To begin the New Mexico GDL, a teen must:

  • Be at least 15 years old
  • Pass written and vision test
  • Enroll in a state-approved driver education course

To obtain an instruction permit teens must provide:
  • Proof of identity and residency
  • Have parental consent
  • Social Security card
  • Proof of enrollment or completion in state-approved driver education course
  • Pay $18 fee

During the instruction period a teen must:
  • Complete 50 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel driving, including 10 hours of nighttime driving
  • Hold permit for 6 months before applying for provisional license
  • Have clean driving record

To obtain a provisional license a teen must successfully meet all the requirements of the instruction permit, provide the documents listed above, and pass a vision, written, and road skills test.

To obtain an Unrestricted License:
  • Be at least 16 1/2 years old
  • Hold Provisional License for at least 12 months
  • Have clean driving record

New Mexico Teen Driver Restrictions
  • Instruction permit holders must be accompanied by a licensed driver, at least 21 years old, at all times.
  • They cannot drive between 12 am and 5 am unless accompanied by a licensed driver, at least 21 years old.
  • Exceptions to this are if the teen is going to and from school, work, church, or an emergency.
  • Violating these laws could lead to license suspension and/or fines.