Save up to $400 on
Ohio car insurance

Ohio DUI Laws

In the state of Ohio you will be charged with Operating a Vehicle Intoxicated (OVI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Ohio OVI Offense

  • 3 days to 6 months imprisonment or
  • 3-day driver intervention program
  • 6 days imprisonment if BAC is 0.17% or above
  • 6 months to 3 years license suspension
  • $450 reinstatement fee
  • $250 to $1000 fine

Second Ohio OVI Offense
  • 10 days imprisonment
  • 18 days to 6 months electronic home monitoring
  • 20 days imprisonment if BAC is 0.17% or above
  • 1 to 5 year(s) license suspension
  • $450 reinstatement fee
  • $350 to $1500 fine
  • 90-day driver intervention program
  • 90-day vehicle immobilization

Third Ohio OVI Offense
  • 30 days to 1 year imprisonment or
  • 15 days imprisonment and 55 days to 1 year electronic home monitoring
  • 60 days imprisonment if BAC is 0.17% or above
  • 1 to 10 year(s) license suspension
  • $450 reinstatement fee
  • $350 to $1500 fine
  • 90-day driver intervention program
  • 180-day vehicle immobilization
  • Mandatory alcohol treatment program

Fourth Ohio OVI Offense
  • Felony offense
  • 60 days to 1 year imprisonment
  • $800 to $10,000 fine
  • $450 reinstatement fee
  • 3-year to permanent license suspension
  • Mandatory vehicle forfeiture
  • Mandatory alcohol treatment program

Ohio’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected OVI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended for one year, subsequent refusals will result in longer suspensions.