Save up to $400 on
Oregon car insurance

Oregon DUI Laws

In the state of Oregon you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Oregon DUI Offense

  • Minimum 2 days to 1 year imprisonment or 80 hours community service
  • Minimum $1000 fine
  • Minimum $2000 fine if BAC is above 0.15%
  • Up to $10,000 fine if minor under 18 in vehicle
  • $300 other DUI fees
  • 1-year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock required for 1 year
  • Completion of drug and alcohol treatment
  • Required participation in victim impact panel program
  • Possible DUI diversion program

Second Oregon DUI Offense
  • Up to 1 year imprisonment
  • Minimum $1500 fine
  • Minimum $2000 fine if BAC is above 0.15%
  • Up to $10,000 fine if minor under 18 in vehicle
  • $300 other DUI fees
  • 3-year license suspension if within 5 years of previous offense
  • Ignition interlock required for 2 years
  • Completion of drug and alcohol treatment
  • Required participation in victim impact panel program

Third Oregon DUI Offense
  • Up to 5 years imprisonment
  • Minimum $2000 fine
  • Up to $10,000 fine if minor under 18 in vehicle
  • $300 other DUI fees
  • Permanent license suspension
  • Ignition interlock required for 3 years
  • Completion of drug and alcohol treatment
  • Required participation in victim impact panel program

Oregon’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended. You will be issued a temporary license until a hearing can be held. Typically penalties for refusing to submit to a test are harsher than an actual drunk driving conviction.