Save up to $400 on
Pennsylvania car insurance

Pennsylvania DUI Laws

In the state of Pennsylvania you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Pennsylvania DUI Offense

  • BAC 0.08% to 0.099%
    • 6-month probation
    • $3000 fine
    • Alcohol highway safety school
  • BAC 0.10% to 0.159%
    • 2 days to 6 months imprisonment
    • $500 to $5000 fine
    • 1-year license suspension
    • Possible restricted license available after 60 days
    • Possible ignition interlock required
    • Alcohol highway safety school
  • BAC 0.16%
    • 3 days to 6 months imprisonment
    • $1000 to $5000 fine
    • 1-year license suspension
    • Alcohol highway safety school
    • Possible restricted license available after 60 days
    • Possible ignition interlock required

Second Pennsylvania DUI Offense
  • BAC 0.08% to 0.099%
    • 5 days to 6 months imprisonment
    • $300 to $2500 fine
    • 1-year license suspension
    • Alcohol highway safety school
    • Ignition interlock required for license reinstatement
  • BAC 0.10% to 0.159%
    • 30 days to 6 months imprisonment
    • $750 to $5000 fine
    • 1-year license suspension
    • Alcohol highway safety school
    • Ignition interlock required for license reinstatement
  • BAC 0.16%
    • 90 days to 5 years imprisonment
    • $1500 fine
    • 18-month license suspension
    • Alcohol highway safety school
    • Ignition interlock required for license reinstatement

Third Pennsylvania DUI Offense
  • BAC 0.08% to 0.099%
    • 10 days to 2 years imprisonment
    • $500 to $5000 fine
    • 1-year license suspension
    • Ignition interlock required for license reinstatement
  • BAC 0.10% to 0.159%
    • 30 days to 6 months imprisonment
    • $1500 to $10,000 fine
    • 18-month license suspension
    • Ignition interlock required for license reinstatement
  • BAC 0.16%
    • 1 to 5 year(s) imprisonment
    • $2500 fine
    • 18-month license suspension
    • Ignition interlock required for license reinstatement

Pennsylvania’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended for 1 year. In addition you may face penalties harsher than an actual DUI conviction. Each subsequent refusal brings with greater penalties and suspension time.