Save up to $400 on
Rhode Island car insurance

Rhode Island DUI Laws

In the state of Rhode Island you will be charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First Rhode Island DWI Offense

  • Up to 1-year imprisonment and/or 10 to 60 hours community service
  • $100 to $300 fine if BAC is 0.08%
  • $100 to $400 fine if BAC is 0.09% to 0.15%
  • $500 fine if BAC is above 0.15%
  • $500 highway assessment fee
  • 30 to 180 days license suspension if BAC is 0.08%
  • 3 months to 1 year if BAC is 0.09% to 0.15%
  • 3 months to 18 months is above 0.15%
  • Mandatory attendance to DWI course

Second Rhode Island DWI Offense (within 5 years of previous offense)
  • 10 days to 1-year imprisonment if BAC is 0.08%
  • 6 months to 1 year if BAC is above 0.15%
  • $400 fine if BAC is 0.08%
  • $1000 fine if BAC is above 0.15%
  • $500 highway assessment fee
  • 1 to 2-year license suspension if BAC is 0.08%
  • 2-year license suspension is above 0.15%
  • Mandatory ignition interlock for 1 to 2 years
  • Mandatory alcohol/drug treatment

Third Rhode Island DWI Offense (within 5 years of previous offense)
  • Felony conviction
  • 1 to 3-year(s) imprisonment if BAC is 0.08%
  • 3 to 5 years if BAC is above 0.15%
  • $400 fine if BAC is 0.08%
  • $1000 to $5000 fine if BAC is above 0.15%
  • $500 highway assessment fee
  • 2 to 3-year license suspension if BAC is 0.08%
  • 3-year license suspension is above 0.15%
  • Mandatory ignition interlock for 2 years
  • Mandatory alcohol/drug treatment
  • Possible vehicle seizure

Rhode Island’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DWI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended for 90 days. Further penalties will be assessed at the time of your hearing wherein you can still be charged with an addition DWI offense.