Save up to $400 on
South Carolina car insurance

South Carolina DUI Laws

In the state of South Carolina you will be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.08%, the minimum BAC known to impair everyone.

First South Carolina DUI Offense

  • BAC under 0.10%
    • 2 to 30 days imprisonment or 48 hours public service
    • $400 fine
    • 6-month license suspension
  • BAC 0.10% to 0.16%
    • 3 to 30 days imprisonment or 72 hours public service
    • $500 fine
    • 6-month license suspension
  • BAC above 0.16%
    • 30 to 90 days imprisonment or 30 days public service
    • $1000 fine
    • 6-month license suspension

Second South Carolina DUI Offense
  • BAC under 0.10%
    • 5 days to 1 year imprisonment
    • $2100 to $5100 fine
    • 1 year suspension
  • BAC 0.10% to 0.16%
    • 30 days to 2 years imprisonment
    • $2500 to $5500 fine
    • 1 year suspension
  • BAC above 0.16%
    • 90 days to 3 years imprisonment
    • $3500 to $6500 fine
    • 1 year suspension

Third South Carolina DUI Offense
  • BAC under 0.10%
    • 60 days to 3 years imprisonment
    • $3800 to $6300 fine
    • 2 year suspension
  • BAC 0.10% to 0.16%
    • 90 days to 4 years imprisonment
    • $5000 to $7500 fine
    • 2 year suspension
  • BAC above 0.16%
    • 6 months to 5 years imprisonment
    • $7500 to $10,000 fine
    • 2 year suspension

Fourth South Carolina DUI Offense
  • BAC under 0.10%
    • 1 to 5 year(s) imprisonment
    • Permanent suspension
  • BAC 0.10% to 0.16%
    • 2 to 6 years imprisonment
    • Permanent suspension
  • BAC above 0.16%
    • 3 to 7 years imprisonment
    • Permanent suspension

South Carolina’s implied consent law means that if you are pulled over for suspected DUI and you refuse to submit to a test, your license will be suspended for at least 90 days. Furthermore, if the court is convinced you were intoxicated at the time, you can still be convicted of a DUI.