Teen Auto Insurance
According to the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) the leading cause of death for US teens are motor vehicle collisions, which account for than a third of all deaths for teens aged 15 to 19.
Teens suffer from a woeful lack of experience when it comes to driving and as more and more drivers enter the nation's highways each year, it becomes increasingly challenging to educate teens on how to judge and react to dangerous or hazardous driving situations.
While most teens are more likely speed and follow other cars too closely, male drivers 15 to 20-years-old in particular, are far more likely to engage in risky driving behavior and 37% were determined to speeding at the time of a crash while over a quarter were cited for drinking.
Attempting to counter these trends, most states use a Graduated Driver's Licensing (GDL) system which gradually introduces teens to more driving responsibilities as they mature and gain practical behind-the-wheel experience. Every state has different GDL requirements. For example, North Dakota allows teens to begin the GDL process as early as 14 years old while Connecticut teens have to wait until they are 16.
For most teens, getting their driver's license is a rite of passage. For most parents, it can be a stressful and worrying period. CarInsurance.info encourages all parents and even aspiring teen drivers to read through their own particular state's GDL requirements and subsequent laws and restrictions.
By providing this information, CarInsurance.info hopes to alleviate confusion about the teen licensing process and hopefully allow parent and teen to concentrate on education and safety.